advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by ~lani~ on Wed 22 May 2013 - 18:49

So I have to go back to work on the 3rd of june... And I have to leave my baby somewhere... My heart is already breaking!

We live in a very very small town, with extremely limited, and with that I almost mean non-existant, baby childcare options. There is this one old lady that is a a "daymother", all the mamas in town recomend her, she is like a grandma to all the kids, they even call her ouma. So I phoned her, and she is willing to take babs, so one morning I popped in to see what the set-up is, and also what feeling I get.
She lives alone, in a very small duette, with a small garden. All is very neat, clean, all the children seemed content, no crying etc. She cooks proper boerekos for them every day. But there is very limited space. No toys/ stimulation actiivities that I could see.
The other thing is, she is looking after 7 12-18months old at this stage.
Will they not hurt my baby, where will she put him when he is awake, etc etc. I'm freaking out!!!

I have a lovely domestic worker, she's great with the older kids. I'm wondering if I shouldn't "train" her in the time still left, and rather leave him with her. O yes, I'm only working 8-1. Even if it is only for winter time, that will help with the getting sick from all the other children...

Please give your opinion??
avatar
~lani~
Member
Member

Number of posts : 58
Age : 32
Mood :
Registration date : 2012-06-12

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by LilianJ on Thu 23 May 2013 - 7:01

Hi Lani, my opinion would be that if you have doubts about this ouma lady then dont take your baba there.

If it is possible, train your DW and have her look after baba. And your working hours are great. I say give your DW a shot.
avatar
LilianJ
V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member

Number of posts : 2594
Age : 34
Mood :
Registration date : 2011-07-11

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by Lilly on Thu 23 May 2013 - 7:03

Lani, I also have a wonderful domestic worker and she has been with me since before D's birth! and she looked after them till I sent to daycare (15 months)

If you are lucky to have a decent domestic, who is great with kids and trustworthy, why not let her take care of LO until he is old enough to go to the other lady or another creche set up.
Oh and Its winter and toddlers get sick (often), so you are bound to end up with a sick baby on a regular basis.
avatar
Lilly
V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member

Number of posts : 10908
Age : 32
Mood :
Registration date : 2009-03-04

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by Haz on Thu 23 May 2013 - 7:10

I kept D at home with my nanny...

I think it's really best for them because they dont' pick up all the bugs going around at school and also it's a very long day for them.

D is an only child, and everyone said to me that he'd be shy/wouldn't socialise, would be behind and when he went to school he'd get very sick...

He started "school" when he was 27 months, and he is not shy at all, is doing perfectly fine at school (he's in grade 00) and he has above average vocabulary...


Haz
Member
Member

Number of posts : 126
Age : 35
Mood :
Registration date : 2013-01-17

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by Kerryw on Thu 23 May 2013 - 7:26

I also left my boys with thier nanny till 20months then they went to school 3 days a week.

I think one on one attention is good when baba is still so little.
avatar
Kerryw
V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member

Number of posts : 8763
Age : 41
Location : Johannesburg
Mood :
Registration date : 2009-05-31

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by Joleen on Thu 23 May 2013 - 7:33

I would let my domestic look after her v the old lady. What if something happens to her (being the old lady)?
avatar
Joleen
V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member

Number of posts : 2987
Age : 43
Mood :
Registration date : 2008-09-23

http://singlemomtwins.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by Lilly on Thu 23 May 2013 - 9:17

I never even about the old lady, how old is she? is she the only supervisor?
avatar
Lilly
V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member

Number of posts : 10908
Age : 32
Mood :
Registration date : 2009-03-04

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by Alleycat on Thu 23 May 2013 - 9:27

Go with the DW I think the old lady has way to many kids already and I would never have a moments piece if I were you if I left mine at the old lady!!

Go with your gut and train the DW

Good luck, I know it is hard to go back to work.
avatar
Alleycat
V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member

Number of posts : 4372
Age : 39
Location : Cape Town
Registration date : 2011-02-18

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by Mandy-Leigh on Mon 27 May 2013 - 9:26

I vote for the DW. Just train her well, for example what to do in an emergency (choking, fever, fall) and spruce up you home security. My home was broken into at 8:15 am and they tied up my domestic while they ransacked the house. Luckily my child was at daycare. And try to not let her "abba" the child, which they often do.
(I have an alram which was off at the time, as well as electric fencing - so train her very well - for example NOT LETTING ANYONE IN even if they are from the Municipality etc.)
avatar
Mandy-Leigh
V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member

Number of posts : 1773
Age : 37
Location : Welkom
Mood :
Registration date : 2009-02-24

Back to top Go down

Re: advise/opinion on childcare please!!!!

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum