A first time, scared mama to be...

Go down

A first time, scared mama to be...

Post by Saffasunshine on Fri 24 Aug 2012 - 11:20

Hi everyone!

So I'm new to this! A friend introduced me to the site because it's my first pregnancy and it's been a really tough one so far!! Here's my story...

I married the man of my dreams in May 2012 in Sydney Australia. I came back to SA a week later to sort out my visa etc. 2 weeks after that I found out I was preggers! We were so excited even though it was tough being apart. Had my first scan and saw baby was healthy and had a strong heart beat! Just a week after my scan, when I was 7 weeks, I was in an accident. Baby was fine but I was shaken. Stress levels peeked over the next few weeks as I waited for my visa.

Just 2.5 weeks ago, I got my visa! Yay! So I decided to go on a mini vacation with my mom. A kind of farewell. My worst nightmare came true. I was bleeding. Oh no. 

I was stuck 550kms from home and my doctor. I was terrified and in an absolute panic. And so was my mom. We began the trip home. We made it to my doc and was rushed straight into a scan. Baby T was fine. But I wasn't. And neither was the future of my pregnancy. I was told I was at risk of miscarrying. I was given meds to relax my womb and sent home for the night. During the night, the bleeding intensified and I didn't sleep much. 

The next morning we headed to the hospital. After another scan and exam, it was determined that the placenta bled, but had stopped. The doc said it was because of my stress levels and due to it being low it was agitated by the bumpy roads. However, the doc also picked up I have a short cervix. This wasn't an immediate danger, but could lead to premature labour in a few days or weeks. I may need surgery. I was admitted.