Small intro ** children mentioned **

Go down

Small intro ** children mentioned **

Post by anotherone on Sat 30 Jan 2010 - 18:48

Hi everyone! I'm new to the adoption boards, but I've been lurking for very long. My main reason for not introducing myself earlier is that my husband and I don't have a history of infertility. Since most of the South African adoption boards are linked to infertility boards, I've been very wary of posting.

My husband and I have been married for 10 years and we just had our wedding anniversary on 15 January. We have 4 biological children and we both have the desire to have a large family through adoption as well. For various reasons, we decided not to work through Child Welfare agencies in South Africa. Most of the private adoption agencies are Christian agencies. We are both born again Christians, but do not belong to a church and a referance from a pastor is one of the agency requirements. Most of the agencies and private social workers work in birthmother programs, which I do not think is a good fit for us. I had some contact with an agency in the north and they told me it was unlikely that any birthmother would ever pick us, but that they were still willing to work with us, we just had to keep in mind that their considerable fees were non-refundable if a potential birthmother changed her mind. :Shocked After evaluating all of our local options, it seemed that international adoption would be our best bet. Unfortunately, our own government has been our biggest obstacle and we haven't been able to make progress. Our current plans involved contacting Procare in Cape Town in about 6 months to see if they were able and willing to work with us, but it seems our plans are changing again. Right now, I don't know what the future holds for us with regards to adoption. :Unsure

Thanks for welcoming to the board. Smiley

anotherone

Number of posts : 10
Mood :
Registration date : 2010-01-29

Back to top Go down