RE: Chinese adoption

Go down

RE: Chinese adoption

Post by anotherone on Fri 29 Jan 2010 - 15:51

Hi everyone! I've been lurking on the forum for ages, but haven't posted yet. My hubby and I have been researching international adoption for more than 3 years, so when I read this post I finally felt like I had something to offer.

Hannah's Hope wrote:Hi Kerry,

I honestly think it's going to work out way more expensive than a local private adoption. The only thing is, I think Chinese babies will be more readily available than white or Indian babies here in RSA.

On average, there are about 2 Chinese babies a year available for adoption in South Africa. So, way less than White or Indian babies.

Hannah's Hope wrote:
If you are keen on a baby girl. China is the place for you. 98 % of the children up for adoption are female. As you would expect of the People's Republic. Its a bureaucratic process: it takes roughly a year before you can fly to China and have a baby handed over to you in a hotel room. A donation of 1500 pounds to the orphanage plus government fees of 2500 pounds are required (use current exchange rate to convert). Singles and over 50s are not eligible..........